Happy Odaiba Memorial Day

1 August, 2022

Koushirou would learn in time the digital world doesn't work that way...

I love this story. I love this franchise. It’s why I started this blog in the first place; not only was it one of my first isekai anime, but the various references to what came before (both Seisenshi Dunbine and a variety of English-language books – The Wizard of Oz, Alice in Wonderland, A Princess of Mars, and Chronicles of Narnia being the relevant ones) – made me intensely curious about the genre and its history before the 2010s isekai boom. (Informative link)

Will have a nice thorough post up on Digimon Survive, Digimon Adventure, and the connections between the two eventually, but I’ve got to complete the former first. Don’t plan on covering isekai video games and visual novels all that much here, but this is an exception.

Thank you for everything, and have a wonderful Odaiba Memorial Day. Those digimon who gave their lives in the fight to save the digital world will not be forgotten.